Malaria-free – Argentina and Algeria

The World Health Organization (WHO) announced Monday that two additional countries have been certified as malaria-free–Algeria and Argentina.

Algeria is the second country in the WHO African Region to be officially recognized as malaria-free, after Mauritius, which was certified in 1973. Argentina is the second country in the WHO Region of the Americas to be certified in 45 years, after Paraguay in June 2018. They reported their last local transmission of malaria in 2013 and 2010, respectively.

Acute Gastro-enteritis – Philippines

Officials with the Pangasinan Provincial Health Office in the western area of the island of Luzon are reporting an increase in acute gastroenteritis cases during the first five months of 2019. 4,282 cases have been reported through May 20.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *